pennylane731's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

when i was 4 years old, a piano tuner told my mom that i have perfect pitch

that was my last-ditch effort,
to get some sort of acknowledgement
that in your esteeming eyes,
my work might have some sort of merit

CHORUS:
but the silence told me
what i already know
i�ll never be more than a back up singer
in someone else�s show
a karaoke queen
in the dive-bar scene
singing above the noise
for the horny drunk boys

putting my own melodic twist
on other�s words, classic over time
beer-soaked emotions pouring through
hoping you can hear between the lines

my own words hide away, inside
notebooks and wordfiles, away from critical view
confidence is lacking in anything i create
it�s so much easier to interpret what�s already tried and true

CHORUS:
because the silence told me
what i already know
i�ll never be more than a back up singer
in someone else�s show
a karaoke queen
in the dive-bar scene
singing above the noise
for the horny drunk boys

BRIDGE:
my tone is pure, and i sing on key
the part that�s mostly lacking is me
perfect pitch can only get you so far
if you�ve got nothing to say, how can you be a star?

CHORUS:
my silence has told me
what i already know
i�ll never be more than a back up singer
in someone else�s show
a karaoke queen
in the dive-bar scene
singing above the noise
for the horny drunk boys

11:51 a.m. - 2006-05-17



clix if you <3 me

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

less-than3
mr-briteside
neon7c
cause-ofyou